Charles Sawyers, MD

Founder, Scientific Advisory Board

Professor, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Dr. Sawyers is a physician-scientist at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. He has led the discovery and development of multiple cancer therapies, including imatinib (Gleevec®), dasatinib (Sprycel®), enzalutamide (Xtandi®), and the recently approved prostate cancer drug apalutamide (Erleada®). Dr. Sawyers is a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, past President of the American Association for Cancer Research, and a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine. For his work at Memorial Sloan Kettering and nearly two decades at UCLA advancing molecularly targeted therapies, he has received numerous honors and awards. These include the Landon-AACR Prize for Translational Cancer Research, the American Society of Clinical Oncology’s Karnofsky Memorial Award, and the Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award. Dr. Sawyers received his MD degree from the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine and his BA from Princeton University.

Scott Lowe, PhD

Founder, Consultant

Professor, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Dr. Lowe serves as the Chair of the Cancer Biology and Genetics Program, Chair of the Geoffrey Beene Cancer Research Center, and an Investigator for the Howard Hughes Medical Institute at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. Dr. Lowe’s research has made important contributions to our understanding of the p53 tumor suppressor network, as well as the processes of multi-step carcinogenesis, cellular senescence, and tumor-cell drug resistance. Dr. Lowe’s work has been recognized by the Sydney Kimmel Foundation Scholar Award, a Rita Allen Foundation Scholar Award, the AACR Outstanding Investigator Award, and the Paul Marks Prize for Cancer Research, among others. He has been inducted as a Fellow in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Previously, Dr. Lowe was a member of the faculty at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. Dr. Lowe received his PhD at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and his BS from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Richard Heyman, PhD

Chairman, Founder, Scientific Advisory Board


Dr. Heyman has over 25 years of biopharma experience. Previously, he was the co-founder and CEO of Aragon and Seragon Pharmaceuticals, two San Diego biotech companies focused on discovering and developing therapeutics targeting hormone-dependent cancers. Johnson & Johnson purchased Aragon in 2013 and Genentech/Roche purchased Seragon in 2014.

Earlier in his career, Dr. Heyman was co-founder and Chief Scientific Officer of X-Ceptor Therapeutics, and also served as Vice President of Research at Ligand Pharmaceuticals. He has been involved in the discovery and development of multiple therapeutic agents approved by the FDA, including the recently approved drug, Erleada, that was demonstrated to increase progression free survival for prostate cancer patients. He is the author or inventor on more than 120 publications and patents. In addition to serving on the Board of Directors for ORIC, Dr. Heyman also serves on the Board of Directors for Gritstone Oncology, Yumanity Therapeutics, Metacrine Inc, Vividion Therapeutics and Mavu Pharma. He is also the Vice Chairman of The Salk Institute. He was an NIH postdoctoral fellow at the Salk Institute, and received a PhD in pharmacology from the University of Minnesota and a BS in chemistry from the University of Connecticut.